16 NOV 2018

The winners of the grand prizes of the Academy of Sciences will receive their award at a ceremony held under the dome of the Palais de l'Institut de France.

Five members of the Sorbonne University community were distinguished:

  • Lamonica Prize in Neurology: Alexandra Durr, Professor Sorbonne University, Hospital Practitioner, at the Brain and Spine Institute (Sorbonne University / ICM - AP-HP / CNRS / Inserm)
  • Lamonica Prize for Cardiology: Florent Soubrier, Professor Sorbonne University, Hospital Practitioner, Institute of Cardiometabolism and Nutrition (Sorbonne University / UMRS ICAN - AP-HP / inserm)
  • Richard Lounsbery Award: Yohanns Bellaïche, CNRS Research Director at the Institut Curie - Genetics and Developmental Biology Unit (Sorbonne University / CNRS / Inserm)
  • Huy Duong Bui Award: Martine Ben Amar, Professor Sorbonne University, at the Laboratory of Statistical Physics (Sorbonne University / LPS - École Normale Supérieure / CNRS)
  • Cnes Award for Astrophysics and Space Science: Luc Blanchet, CNRS Research Director at the Paris Institute of Astrophysics (Sorbonne University / IAP - CNRS)

Since its creation in 1666, the French Academy of Sciences has been dedicated to the development of science and advises government authorities in this field. Independent and permanent, placed under the protection of the President of the Republic, it is one of five academies at the Institut de France.

Learn more:

Academy of Sciences

Also see: