In Malaysia, this PhD in oceanography discovered water polo at the age of 12 when she met a New Zealand player at the pool where she was already spending most of her time. Four years later, when she returned to France, she joined a water polo club as the only girl on the team.

Marie Barbieux 2
Marie Barbieux

During her adolescence, Marie spent two years with her family touring the Atlantic on a sailing boat. This is how she discovered the wealth and beauty of the ocean.

"I was able to observe dolphins surfing the bow of the sailboat, admire a sperm whale only a few meters away, cross the Atlantic in sometimes difficult weather conditions, and gaze at the stars in a perfectly dark sky,” Marie recalls.

These images, forever engraved in her mind, pushed her to learn more about the vast, still unknown ocean. After a bachelor’s degree in Biology at the University of Caen Normandy, this sea enthusiast specialized in oceanography at the University of Laval in Quebec before getting a master’s in Oceanography, Marine Environments at Sorbonne University. In parallel, she participates in the Tara Mediterranean Expedition to study the distribution of microplastics in a region particularly subject to pressure from human activity. Through the Tara program, she educated young and old about the essential gestures to reduce their ecological footprint. She then joined the marine station of Villefranche-sur-Mer to carry out a doctoral thesis.

Her research focuses on phytoplankton, the ocean-dwelling microalgae that photosynthesize and contribute half of the planet's primary oxygen production.

"Thanks to our new robots, the BGC-Argo floaters, we have obtained measurements in all oceans with very high spatial and temporal resolution for the first time. My job was to analyze these data from over a hundred floats to better understand the distribution and amount of phytoplankton present in the ocean, "says the Marie.

In 2015, selected for the France national team, Marie continued her career as a high-level polo player. She had the position of "pointe", an attacking role that requires endurance, and both physical and technical prowess. Combining competitions and a doctorate required iron self-discipline on a daily basis. Her days began at 6am with research work, then, from 9am to 11am, she trained at the pool before resuming her research, and working until late in the afternoon. At 18:30, she went to weight training and a practice session in the water until 22h. She also had to juggle weeks of training in Lille and research in Villefranche-sur-mer, not to mention the meeting with the French national team.

During this perilous period of the doctorate, she could count on the support of her superiors, friends and family, but also got particular support from Gaby Gorsky. The former director of the oceanography laboratory at Villefranche-sur-Mer also had a career coaching the men's water polo team in Nice.

"Gaby encouraged me from the start to pursue my dual project and supported me in all my endeavors," says Marie. “He is one of the many people who enabled me to succeed in this project, including help from Annick Bricaud and Julia Uitz, my thesis directors, and David Izidore, then head of high-level athletes at Sorbonne University."

Having made it through that difficult period, Marie is now proud to have obtained her doctorate while representing her country in many international competitions. Being a top athlete gave her the opportunity to learn how to surpass her capabilities through perseverance, patience and the ability to invest in a collective effort.

 "High performance sport has also allowed me to discover many facets of my personality and to work more effectively on my psychological weaknesses. Without this experience, I would probably not be who I am today, "she says.

Next year, the champion wants to be fully involved in her sporting project.

"If I want to have a chance to represent France in the Olympics, I have to investment myself completely," said Marie.

The qualification tournament for the 2020 Olympics will take place next March. Before that, she will have to be selected individually to be able to participate in the European championships in January 2020, and then selected for the qualification tournament. Even then, the French women's water polo team must be one of the top ten qualifying nations to participate in the games.

So while this advanced sportswoman concentrates on qualifying, her passion for oceanography guarantees she will not lose touch with science and new research projects.

Updated on 29 MAR 2019

En Malaisie, cette docteure en océanographie découvre le water-polo à l'âge de 12 ans grâce à un joueur néo-zélandais qu’elle rencontre à la piscine dans laquelle elle passe déjà le plus clair de son temps. Quatre ans plus tard, de retour en France, elle s’inscrit dans un club dont elle sera la seule fille poloïste.

Marie Barbieux 2
Marie Barbieux

Durant son adolescence, Marie part deux ans sur un voilier faire le tour de l'Atlantique avec sa famille. Elle y découvre la richesse et la beauté de l'océan.

« J’ai pu observer des dauphins surfer à l'étrave du voilier, admirer un cachalot à seulement quelques mètres, traverser l'Atlantique dans des conditions météo parfois difficiles, contempler les étoiles dans un ciel parfaitement noir, etc. », se souvient Marie.

Ces images à jamais gravées dans sa tête la poussent à en apprendre davantage sur cet espace encore méconnu qu’est l’océan. Après une licence de biologie à Caen, cette amoureuse du grand large part se spécialiser en océanographie à l’université de Laval au Québec avant d’intégrer le master Océanographie, Environnements Marins de Sorbonne Université. En parallèle, elle participe à l’expédition Tara Méditerranée pour étudier la répartition des microplastiques dans une région particulièrement sujette à la pression anthropique. Grâce à Tara, elle sensibilise petits et grands aux gestes indispensables à la réduction de l’empreinte écologique. Elle rejoint ensuite la station marine de Villefranche-sur-mer pour y réaliser une thèse.

Son travail de recherche porte sur le phytoplancton, ces microalgues marines présentes dans l’océan qui effectuent la photosynthèse et contribuent pour moitié à la production primaire de l’oxygène de la planète.

« Grâce à de nouveaux robots, les flotteurs BGC-Argo, nous avons pour la première fois obtenu des mesures dans tous les océans à très haute résolution spatiale et temporelle. Mon travail a consisté à analyser ces données issues de plus d’une centaine de flotteurs afin de mieux comprendre la répartition et la quantité de phytoplancton présent dans l’océan », explique la docteure.

En 2015, sélectionnée en équipe de France, Marie poursuit sa carrière de poloïste de haut niveau. Elle occupe la place de « pointe », un poste d’attaquante qui demande de l’endurance, du physique et de l’astuce technique. Allier compétitions et doctorat requiert au quotidien une discipline de fer. Ses journées commencent à 6h par un travail de recherche, puis, de 9h à 11h, elle part s’entraîner à la piscine avant de reprendre ses recherches jusque tard dans l’après-midi. A 18h30, elle enchaîne par de la musculation puis un nouvel entraînement dans l’eau jusqu’à 22h. Il faut également jongler entre les semaines d'entrainement à Lille et les recherches à Villefranche-sur-mer, sans compter les rassemblements avec l’équipe de France. 

Durant cette périlleuse traversée du doctorat, elle peut compter sur le soutien de ses responsables, de ses amis et de sa famille, mais aussi sur celui Gaby Gorsky. L’ancien directeur du laboratoire d'océanographie de Villefranche-sur-mer a également connu une carrière d’entraîneur de l’équipe masculine de water-polo de Nice.

« Gaby m'a encouragé dès le départ à poursuivre mon double projet et m'a soutenu dans toutes mes démarches, indique Marie. Il est l'un des nombreux acteurs qui m'ont permis de réaliser ce projet avec, entre autres, Annick Bricaud et Julia Uitz, mes directrices de thèse, et David Izidore, alors responsable des sportifs de haut niveau à Sorbonne Université. »

Sortie indemne de cette période pourtant harassante, Marie est désormais fière d'avoir réussi à obtenir le titre de docteur tout en représentant son pays dans de très nombreuses compétitions internationales. Etre sportive de haut niveau lui a donné l’occasion d’apprendre le dépassement de soi, la persévérance, la patience et la capacité à s'investir au sein d'un collectif.

 « Le sport de haut niveau m’a également permis de découvrir de nombreuses facettes de ma personnalité et de travailler plus efficacement sur mes points faibles psychologiques. Sans cette expérience, je ne serais probablement la personne que je suis aujourd’hui », confie-t-elle.

L’an prochain, la championne souhaite s'investir pleinement dans son projet sportif.

« Si je veux avoir une chance de représenter la France à cette compétition mythique que sont les JO, mon investissement doit être total », souligne Marie.

Le tournoi de qualification pour les JO 2020 aura lieu en mars prochain. Avant, elle devra être sélectionnée individuellement pour pouvoir participer aux championnats d'Europe de janvier 2020 puis au tournoi de qualification. Il faudra ensuite que l’équipe de France féminine de water-polo fasse partie des dix premières nations mondiales lors de ces qualifications.

Passionnée par l’océanologie, cette sportive de pointe ne veut cependant pas perdre pied avec la science et espère bientôt replonger dans les projets de recherche.

Mis à jour le 29 MARS 2019