With three Nobel prizes, the Kastler Brossel Laboratory (LKB*) is one of the most prestigious laboratories of quantum physics in France. From fundamental testing of quantum theory to applications, the Lab’s teams cover a wide range of research topics such as quantum gases, optics, atoms and light. The outstanding equipment of the laboratory is at the forefront in terms of technique and precision. It is maintained and improved daily by a team led by Jean-Michel Isac, technical manager of the laboratory and technical director of the physics department of ENS.

After studying mechanics in the Hautes-Pyrénées, Jean-Michel Isac moved to Paris to work as an mechanic at the Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers. "I spent 14 years in this school then I decided to get a degree of engineering studies through evening classes there," he recalls. He achieved the goal of his professional project when joining the LKB in 2006. He is in charge of a team of three electronic engineers, three mechanics and an opticial engineer. Jean-Michel and his team designs and develops prototypes that LKB researchers use to make highly precise measurements.

"Interacting with researchers is exciting. I feel that I fully participate in their research and discoveries."

This proximity enables an exchange of knowledge that constantly enriches their respective work. "I analyze the needs and make custom parts with my team, such as electromagnetic coils, electronic and mechanical systems." For example, he has a milling machine in his workshop that is capable of machining parts to the order of one micron (0.001 millimeter!).

Internationally renowned, the LKB also sometimes asks Jean-Michel Isac to manufacture pieces whose usefulness goes beyond the laboratory, such as for the European project Virgo gravitational wave detection.

* LKB: co-managed by Sorbonne University/CNRS/ENS/Collège de France)

© Pierre Kitmacher - Sorbonne University

Updated on 21 AUG 2018

Avec ses trois prix Nobel, le laboratoire Kastler Brossel (LKB : Sorbonne Université/CNRS/ENS/Collège de France) est considéré comme l’un des plus prestigieux laboratoires de physique quantique en France. Depuis les tests fondamentaux de la théorie quantique jusqu’aux applications, ses équipes couvrent un large éventail de sujets de recherche tels que les gaz quantiques, l’optique, les atomes et la lumière. Le matériel exceptionnel du laboratoire, à la pointe en termes de technique et de précision, est entretenu et amélioré au quotidien par une équipe menée par Jean-Michel Isac, responsable technique du laboratoire et directeur technique du département de physique de l’ENS.

Après des études de mécanique dans les Hautes-Pyrénées, Jean-Michel Isac s’installe à Paris pour travailler en tant que mécanicien à l’école nationale supérieure d’arts et métiers. « J’ai passé 14 ans dans cette école puis j’ai décidé de passer un diplôme d’ingénieur d’études en cours du soir via le CNAM », se souvient-il. Il concrétise ce projet professionnel en rejoignant le laboratoire Kastler Brossel en 2006. Responsable d’une équipe de trois électroniciens, trois mécaniciens et un ingénieur opticien, il crée avec eux des prototypes qui servent aux campagnes de mesure des chercheurs du LKB et les fait évoluer.

« L’interaction avec les chercheurs est passionnante. J’ai le sentiment de participer pleinement à leurs recherches et à leurs découvertes. »

Cette proximité permet un échange de connaissances qui n’a de cesse d'enrichir leurs métiers respectifs. « J’analyse les besoins et fabrique avec mon équipe des pièces sur mesure : bobines électromagnétiques, systèmes électroniques et mécaniques… » L’une des fraiseuses de son atelier lui permet par exemple d’usiner des pièces de l’ordre du micron (0,001 millimètre !).

De renommée internationale, le LKB amène aussi Jean-Michel Isac à fabriquer des pièces dont l'utilité dépasse le cadre du laboratoire, tels que le projet européen de détection d’ondes gravitationnelles Virgo.

 

© Pierre Kitmacher - Sorbonne Université

Mis à jour le 28 DÉC. 2017