Passionate about writing, linguistics and the study of literary texts, Athina Tsilikas is a third-year undergraduate student in a Humanities – Edition – Audiovisual - Media program at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. She chose to go on an Erasmus exchange for nine months in her country of origin, Greece.

Athina Tsilikas
Athina Tsilikas © Athina Tsilikas

Why did you do an Erasmus exchange and choose Greece as a destination?

I am Franco-Greek. Born in France, I tried the Erasmus adventure with the goal of rediscovering my father's country and becoming totally bilingual in Greek.
Although I often spend summers in Greece, I have never been to Athens and I have always dreamed of studying in this city. I also wanted to take flight, become independent and discover another way of life and learning.

Did your local integration go smoothly?

My first days in Greece went well. The establishment’s Erasmus hosting was very well organized and I immediately felt at ease. The integration was then very easy because I already spoke the language, which is a huge advantage.
The life I discovered there exceeded what I imagined. I was captivated by the way of life and the Greek mentality. Of course, daily life is different from that of Paris: wages are half the amount, food is much cheaper, public transport less developed (although very clean). However, there is a little something that makes life extraordinary. I think that as a Greek, I was even more touched by this country and I fell completely in love.

How were your classes?

The state of the premises at the Greek faculties is quite deplorable, but the level of education is very good. While the majority of language and literature courses were in French, I was also able to take courses in Greek and English.
Not having a good foundation in English, I also chose to take private lessons in Athens. Today, thanks to this and the fact of permanently practicing English in contact with other Erasmus students from all over the world, I progressed and spoke much more easily. I will also pass the Cambridge exam to have a certification recognized at the European level. I have also made a lot of progress in Greek and now consider myself bilingual.

How is student life?

Student life in Athens is very lively. The Greeks offered us wonderful trips throughout the country and throughout the year. The Erasmus association is also very involved and organizes events every week.
Beyond the Erasmus associations, Athens is full of unique and friendly places: coffee terraces, underground bars, live jazz, dance bars with Greek music or rock. There is something for every taste. Certain cultural aspects of the country also make everyday life very pleasant: we can, for example, drink a coffee or eat a pita (a sort of Greek kebab) at any time of the day, or visit, when we wish, the many ancient sites of the city.

And what are your plans for the future?

This year of mobility allowed me to clarify my professional project. I had planned for some time to pass the CELSA competition entrance exam in Business Communications and Institutions, but I still did not really know what I wanted to do.
Today, I know that I want to move towards institutional rather than business communication and to participate in the development of Franco-Greek relations. As soon as I have the opportunity, I will return to Greece to try my luck at the professional level.

Would you recommend the Erasmus experience to students?

I advise all students to leave for an Erasmus exchange. This year was an amazing journey that allowed me to test my limits, learn to adapt and think about what I really wanted in my life. Above all, it is an exceptional human adventure that enriched me a lot and made me grow.
You learn as much about the host country as you do about yourself. You are faced with new challenges like integrating a new university, reinventing a daily routine and manage a budget. You come out of this adventure more grown up and happy to have had the opportunity. This program is for me one of the best, if not the best, that Europe has developed.

 

Updated on 14 NOV 2018

Passionnée par l’écriture, la linguistique et l’études de textes littéraires, Athina Tsilikas est étudiante en troisième année de licence Lettres Edition Médias Audiovisuel à la faculté des Lettres. Elle a choisi de partir en Erasmus pendant neuf mois dans son pays d’origine, la Grèce.

Athina Tsilikas
Athina Tsilikas © Athina Tsilikas

Pourquoi êtes-vous partie en Erasmus et avoir choisi la Grèce comme destination ?

Je suis franco-grecque. Née en France, j'ai tenté l'aventure Erasmus dans le but de redécouvrir le pays de mon père et devenir totalement bilingue en grec.

Même si je passe souvent mes étés en Grèce, je n’étais jamais allée à Athènes et j’ai toujours rêvé de faire mes études dans cette ville. Je voulais aussi prendre mon envol, devenir autonome et découvrir un autre mode de vie et d’apprentissage.

Votre intégration sur place s’est-elle bien passée ?

Mes premiers jours en Grèce se sont bien déroulés. L’accueil des Erasmus par l’établissement était très bien organisé et je me suis tout de suite sentie à mon aise. L’intégration a été ensuite très facile car je parlais déjà la langue, ce qui constitue un énorme avantage.

La vie que j’ai découverte sur place dépassait ce que j’imaginais. J’ai été subjuguée par la façon de vivre et la mentalité grecques. Bien sûr, le quotidien est différent de celui de Paris : les salaires sont réduits de moitié, la nourriture beaucoup moins chère, les transports en commun moins développés (bien que très propres). Cependant, il y a un petit quelque chose qui rend la vie extraordinaire. Je pense qu’en tant que Grecque, j’ai été encore plus touchée par ce pays et en suis tombée complètement amoureuse.

Comment se sont déroulés vos cours ?

L’état des locaux des facultés grecques est assez déplorable, mais le niveau d’enseignement est très bon. Si la majorité des cours de linguistique et de littérature étaient en français, j’ai également pu suivre des cours en grec et en anglais.

N’ayant pas de bonnes bases en anglais, j’ai également choisi de prendre des cours particuliers à Athènes. Aujourd’hui, grâce à cela et au fait de pratiquer en permanence l’anglais au contact d’autres Erasmus du monde entier, j’ai progressé et parle beaucoup plus aisément. Je vais d’ailleurs passer le Cambridge afin d’avoir une certification reconnue au niveau européen. J’ai aussi beaucoup progressé en grec et me considère désormais bilingue.

Comment se passe la vie étudiante ?

La vie étudiante à Athènes est très animée. Les Grecs nous ont proposé tout au long de l’année des voyages magnifiques dans tout le pays. Le groupe associatif Erasmus est lui aussi très impliqué et organise chaque semaine des évènements.

Au-delà des associations Erasmus, Athènes regorge d’endroits uniques et sympathiques : café-terrasses, bars souterrains, jazz en live, bars dansant avec de la musique grecque ou du rock, etc. Il y en a pour tous les goûts. Certains aspects culturels propres au pays rendent aussi le quotidien très agréable : nous pouvons, par exemple, boire un café ou manger une pita (sorte de kebab grec) à n’importe quelle heure de la journée, ou visiter, quand nous le souhaitons, les nombreux sites antiques de la ville.

Et quels sont vos projets pour l’avenir ?

Cette année de mobilité m’a permis de clarifier mon projet professionnel. En effet, si j’avais prévu depuis un certain temps de passer le concours du CELSA en Communications des Entreprises et Institutions, je ne savais pas encore réellement ce que je voulais faire.

Aujourd’hui, je sais que je souhaite davantage me diriger vers la communication en institution plutôt qu’en entreprise et participer au développement des relations franco-grecques. Dès que j’en aurai l’occasion, je reviendrai en Grèce tenter ma chance au niveau professionnel.

Recommanderiez-vous aux étudiants l’expérience Erasmus ?

Je conseille à tous les étudiants de partir en Erasmus. Cette année a été un voyage extraordinaire qui m’a permis de tester mes limites, d’apprendre à m’adapter et de réfléchir à ce que je voulais vraiment dans ma vie. C’est avant tout une aventure humaine exceptionnelle qui m’a beaucoup enrichie et m’a fait grandir.

Vous apprenez autant sur le pays d’accueil que sur vous-même. Vous êtes confrontés à de nouveaux challenges comme s’intégrer dans une nouvelle université, réinventer un quotidien, gérer un budget, etc. Vous sortez de cette aventure grandi et heureux d’avoir eu l’opportunité de la vivre. Ce programme est pour moi l’un des meilleurs, si ce n’est le meilleur, que l’Europe a mis au point. 

Mis à jour le 09 OCT. 2018